approachingthehill

Focusing on Italian Genealogy and uncovering the testa duras in my family tree

Pietro Fiandaca – 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

I’ve decided to accept the 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks Challenge!

Week 1’s theme is Fresh start. What ancestor had a fresh start?

This was an easy theme for me because 100% of my ancestors came to America from Italy for a fresh start. The hard part was choosing an ancestor to highlight.

I decided to start with great uncle Pietro Fiandaca because he was the first ancestor on my Dad’s side to come to America. Pietro was the oldest son of Angelo Fiandaca and Maria Didio. (Although his death certificate lists his mother as Mary Marsilia). He was born on November 1 , 1876 in Villarosa, Sicily. Pietro married Calogera Abbate, who was the sister of his father’s second wife. (Kind of weird in this day and age, but maybe not unusual for your step mother to also be your sister-in-law). Like most of my Sicilian ancestors, Pietro worked as a sulfur miner.

Pietro left Sicily in 1904 from Naples aboard the Lombardia and arrived at Ellis Island October 7th, 1904. He indicated that he was going to stay with his cousin, who is also named Pietro Fiandaca, in New York. In 1906, when his brother Ignasio came to America, Pietro was still living in New York. Brother Guiseppe also immigrated to America. By 1912, when my grandparents arrived from Italy, Pietro was living in DuQuoin, Perry, IL and working as a coal miner.

Sometime between the 1920 census and the 1930 census, the entire Fiandaca family changed their last name to Fiantaco! This is basically a made up name. You will not find any Fiantaco’s living in Italy. Pietro (Pete), Ignasio (Sam) and Guiseppe (Joe) all appear in the 1930 census and everything there after as Fiantaco. I haven’t been able to find out why. I think perhaps because of prejudice against Italians at this time. Their name did not get changed at Ellis Island, like most people think. If I meet anyone with the last name of Fiantaco, I know I’m related to them. But I have lost my Fiandaca paisans.

Pete Fiantaco died on December 24, 1933 in DuQuoin, Perry, IL at the age of 57. He is buried in Sacred Heart cemetery in DuQuoin, IL.

1918 WWI Pietro Fiandaca 1

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Pietro Fiandaca – 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

  1. That is an interesting name change. When my husband’s Italian ancestors changed their name from Giorgio to George – you would assume it may have been to seem “less Italian” but Fiandaca to Fiantaco – hmmm – is there any family story behind the change? Glad you are doing the 52 ancestor’s challenge I will enjoy reading more of your posts.
    I think you’ve seen my blog “Trovando Famiglia” but if not here is a link to one of my 52 ancestors in 52 weeks from last year that you might enjoy.
    https://trovandofamiglia.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/52-ancestors-in-52-weeks-custode-iacobucci-george/

Leave a Reply

